US AdmissionsU.S. admissions advisers

Community college · International student guide

Laney College

Oakland, CA

Laney College, a Peralta Community College District campus in downtown Oakland, is known for programs including Journalism, Culinary Arts, Mathematics, Machine Technology, and Ethnic Studies. International (F-1) applicants apply through the Peralta Colleges Office of International Education.

Laney College campus in OaklandLaney College campus buildings

Photos: “Laney College, Oakland, California” by Clyde Charles Brown, CC BY-SA 4.0; “Laney College campus buildings” by NeoBatfreak, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons, resized.

This guide puts first what matters when you apply from outside the United States: costs, English requirements, dates and documents. Every figure links to the college's own page.

Your yearly costs

Housing is estimated, not a guaranteed rent. Summer study and personal spending may change your costs.

From $13,410USD · per academic year

Tuition & fees

30 units across two semesters; $447 per unit. Cost year not stated; confirm the current rate.

Official cost source · checked 7 Oct 2026

$10,000USD · per academic year

Housing & meals estimate

Cost year: Not stated.

Official cost source · checked 7 Oct 2026

$2,100USD · per academic year

Health insurance

Cost year: Not stated.

Official cost source · checked 7 Oct 2026

$25,970USD · per academic year

Estimated total budget

Includes tuition, housing, insurance and $460 in other school costs.

Official cost source · checked 7 Oct 2026

These are school or college costs, not our advisory fees. A budget estimate is not an all-inclusive invoice. Confirm your course load, housing, insurance and required extras before paying.

English, documents and requirements

When to apply (Spring deadlines)

Spring semester (January-May): apply by November 15 from overseas, or December 15 if already in the U.S. on an F-1 visa. The page prints no year.

Source · checked 3 Oct 2026

Requirement: English test

Applicants at High Intermediate English or below (iBT under 67, IELTS under 6.4, Duolingo under 89, GSP Level 3 or lower) receive an I-20 for the ESOL program

Source · checked 3 Oct 2026

Programmes and transfer

Academic programmes

Renowned programs in fields including Journalism, Culinary Arts, Mathematics, Machine Technology, and Ethnic Studies

Source · checked 3 Oct 2026

We are not an official representative of these institutions, and listing one is not a claim of partnership. Admission decisions are made only by each institution.

When a student we advise enrols, we may receive a commission from the institution, paid through our placement partners. This does not change what you pay us.

Start your application